Dr. Sorin Voinigescu

Past Evolution and Future Prospects of Silicon mm-Wave ICs for Autonomous Navigation and 5G Applications

Presentation Abstract:

With the first 10 Million modules shipped since 2010, 77GHz automotive radar multichannel transceivers can be considered a success story which is just about to take off.  Other attempts during the last 15 years to create medium or larger volume mm-wave markets in 60GHz WiGig, and V- and W-Band cellular backhaul have experienced much slower progress, if any. In this presentation I will try to emphasize what has worked and what hasn’t work, which technologies and system architectures have  succeeded and why, and try to extract lessons for the new mm-wave applications in 5G wireless communications and ultra low power micro-gesture control sensors.


Sorin P. Voinigescu holds the Stanley Ho Chair in Microelectronics and is the Director of the VLSI Research Group in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at the University of Toronto. He is an IEEE Fellow and a world renowned expert on millimeter-wave and 100+Gb/s integrated circuits and atomic-scale semiconductor device technologies.  Between 1994 and 2002 he was first with Nortel Networks and later with Quake Technologies in Ottawa, Canada.  In 2008-2009 and 2015-16, he spent sabbatical leaves at Fujitsu Laboratories of America, Sunnyvale, California, at NTT’s Device Research Laboratories in Atsugi, Japan, and at Robert Bosch GmbH in Germany, exploring technologies and circuits for 128GBaud fiber-optic systems, 300Gb/s mm-wave radio transceivers, and radar sensors.

 Dr. Voinigescu co-founded and was the CTO of two fabless semiconductor start-ups: Quake Technologies and Peraso Technologies. He was a member of the ITRS RF/AMS Committee, of the  ExCom of IEEE CISICS, and is a member of the ExCom of the IEEE BCTM. He received NORTEL’s President Award for Innovation in 1996 and is a co-recipient of the Best Paper Award at the 2001 IEEE CICC, the 2005 IEEE CSICS, and of the Beatrice Winner Award at the 2008 IEEE ISSCC. His students have won numerous Best Student Paper awards, most recently at IEEE IMS 2017. In 2013 he was recognized with the ITAC Lifetime Career Award for his contributions to the Canadian Semiconductor Industry.