Professor Antti Raisanen

Presentation Abstract:

Millimeter-wave antennas for 5G

Antti V. Räisänen1, Jianfang Zheng1, Juha Ala-Laurinaho1, Sabin Karki1, Ville Viikari1

1 Department of Electronics and Nanoengineering, Aalto University, Espoo, Finland,

The fifth generation (5G) of wireless communications systems has brought a growing need for various antennas, electrically small and large, low-gain and large-gain, also at millimeter wavelengths, and in many cases with beam steering or switching capability. Frequencies of 28 GHz, 38 GHz, 58 GHz, 60 GHz, 71-86 GHz, 140-150 GHz, and some even higher “window” frequencies are of interest in 5G and subsequent generations. Different parts of the systems need different kinds of antennas. In this presentation, we first give an overview of our various research activities on mm-wave antennas for 5 G, and then discuss in more detail two different types of antennas, namely high-gain lens antennas with beam switching capability and lower gain printed antennas that suit very well for mass production.


Antti V. Räisänen received the D.Sc.(Tech.) degree in EE from the Helsinki University of Technology (TKK) (now Aalto University), Espoo, Finland, in 1981. In 1989, he was appointed Professor Chair of Radio Engineering with TKK, after holding the same position pro tem in 1985 and 1987–1989. He has been a Visiting Scientist or Professor with the Five College Radio Astronomy Observatory (FCRAO) and the University of Massachusetts at Amherst (1978–1979, 1980, 1981); the Chalmers University of Technology (1983); the University of California at Berkeley (1984–1985); the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) and California Institute of Technology (1992–1993); Observatoire de Paris and Universite de Paris 6 (2001–2002), and Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (2013-2014).

He supervises research in millimeter-wave components, antennas, receivers, microwave measurements, etc., at the Aalto University, Department of Electronics and Nanoengineering and Millimetre Wave Laboratory of Finland – ESA External Laboratory (MilliLab). He has educated a large number of master and doctoral students: under his supervision 54 students have received the doctor degree. He has authored or coauthored over 500 scientific or technical papers and seven books.

He has served as Conference Chairman of several international microwave and millimeter-wave conferences including the 1992 European Microwave Conference and the 2016 Global Symposium on Millimeter Waves. He was an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques (2002–2005). He was a member of the Board of Directors of the European Microwave Association (EuMA) (2006–2011). He has been Chair of the Board of Directors of MilliLab since its establishment in 1995. Dr. Räisänen is Fellow of IEEE since 1994 and Fellow of the Antenna Measurement Techniques Association (AMTA) since 2008. He was the recipient of the AMTA Distinguished Achievement Award in 2009. The Chair of Excellence by the University Carlos III of Madrid was awarded to him in 2013. In 2017, he received the EuMA Distinguished Service Award, was conferred Honorary Doctorate of the University Carlos III of Madrid, and received a high-ranking Decoration from the President of the Republic of Finland, namely Commander of the Order of the Lion of Finland.